Bit of an Update

Got a very busy week ahead of me, so this might be the only post all week, but I’ve got a lot announce.

First off, 1.4.1 is being released end of this week without multiplayer.  I’ve decided to do this because multiplayer needs a lot more work done to it and you deserve this update now, you deserve the fixes that come with it at the very least not to mention the changes that go with it.

The fixes include:

  • Gamepad support
  • Being able to delete your last ship
  • Double equipping weapons
  • Installer issues with XNA dependency

Changes include:

  • HUD arrow colours and size
  • Re-balance of the economy
  • All weapons now fire from different points on the ship
  • Shadow engine now uses DX9 instead of DX10
  • Overall game efficiency improved
  • Game now runs at 1080p

Norwich Games ExpoMost of the changes came out because of two events.  Over the past weekend I was at the Norwich Games Expo, which was the first time I got to see other people play Space Salvager for about six months.  Watching people play allowed me to get some feedback about play style and where things needed improving.  The game was very well received, that is to say there was a constant stream of people sitting down from fifteen to thirty minutes at a time getting engrossed in the darkness of space.  The pirates were about as hard as I had intended them to be, although a young boy and girl managed to rack up a few kills where no adult could – except Nige (see left).

The other event was Space Salvager being approved for publication with Desura.  That’s right, Space Salvager is coming to Desura.  This is a big step for me, it’s the biggest platform I’ll have been published on and I’m really excited for it.  As part of that they wanted higher resolution screen shots, which means changing the resolution from 720p to 1080p.  This move caused almost no issues, which was very surprising, except a few efficiency issues I’ve now smoothed out.  The result was the game become stunning, I mean really stunning.  By comparison to the previous resolution anyway.  The build that was shown at Norwich was at 720p, which people still liked, so this version should go down a treat.

The last thing to mention is I’ve decided to submit Space Salvager to the IGF 2014.  Now, I don’t think I have a chance of winning, maybe I’ll get placed but the important thing is the journey and experience.  I think it’ll be a lot of fun to get through the process and maybe get my name out there a bit more, which can only be a good thing.

My apologies if none of that made sense, my life is full of crunch.  Crunch is my life right now and forever.  Or maybe it just feels that way…

Leave a Reply

